top of page

Acerca de

collage23.jpg

Jake

Jake (adoption pending)

Age: 1 year 8 months

Housebroken?: Yes

Training?: Professional training required

Good with Children?: Yes, but older children would be best

Good with Dogs?: Yes

Good with Cats?: Yes

Hi, I'm Jake! I was surrendered because of a divorce situation. I live in a foster home with two standard-issue adults and one young adult who is 19. She's the bee's knees. She has a boyfriend, but I think I have a shot anyway. There are two other Boxers here. They are kinda old, but they tolerate my puppy playfulness. Oh, there is a cat here, too. I mostly ignore him and he ignores me, but if I glance at him the wrong way, I might get a swat across the nose.  It's unpredictable. Cats - amiright???  As you can see, I am extremely handsome and smooshy-faced. I know some basic obedience and am fully housebroken. I love toys and it didn't take me long to discover the toy bin in my foster home. Tennis balls for the win! I walk pretty well on leash and goodness knows I need the exercise. My foster mom says I'm "still a pup" and have plenty of energy. She's always singing funny songs about me (something about "Jake your bootie") and telling me what a handsome boy I am.

One thing to know about me is that I have anxiety. My foster mom says it's okay - she has anxiety, too! New situations are hard for me. I was out of sorts when I got to my foster home, but I settled into the routine before too long. They have good treats here and I looooove food. Speaking of which, you'd be wise not to leave food on the counter - believe me when I say that I know it's there! I get a little nervous meeting new people, but I warm up quickly. The 19-year-old is home from college and her friends are always coming and going. Going to the vet is stressful for me. While my new family might want to consider medication in the future, helping me to feel confident is also key. I look forward to taking some classes with my new family, too. 

I don't *love* going into a crate, but I can be crated for short periods of time if necessary. My foster mom gives me a Kong with treats and peanut butter in it. She and the other adult work from home so there's always someone around. 

I have never been around small children so I'm looking for a home with older kids. I'm also still doing some of the typical puppy behaviors like being a bit mouthy at playtime. 

If you're looking for a young, jowly boy with a lot of joie de vivre, I'm your guy! 

Contact

If you are interested in adopting me...

  1. You must be a resident of Wisconsin (or the U.P. of Michigan). We rely on personal visits as the best opportunity for an applicant to learn about a dog. Please note that the dogs are located in foster homes throughout the state.

  2. You must have an application on file first. Please apply. Need more info about adopting first? Check out our adoption information for the whole scoop.

  3. Please use the form below to indicate your interest in me. Approved applicants and former adopters are welcome to inquire.

  4. If you need more information, it is helpful if you submit specific questions.

 

Please note that you must have an approved application on file prior to inquiring about a dog. (DS-266916)

Do you have an approved application on file?
Thanks for your interest!
bottom of page