Little Bear

Age:
14 months
Housebroken?:
Yes
Training?:
Obedience training is a requirement for me since I’m under the age of 4
Good with Children?:
Yes, but over the age of 7, please
Good with Dogs?:
Yes - I need a companion dog in my new home
Good with Cats?:
Unknown
Hi, I’m Little Bear! I was rescued from a puppy mill. When I came to GABR I had an injury to my front leg. My elbow joint was not normal because my joints didn’t line up (one bone was shorter than the other) and it required surgery to shortened my ulna bone to correct my elbow. My recovery was 16 weeks and 5 of those weeks I received Adequan injections to help manage my pain and progression of arthritis. I have a significant amount of arthritis in my leg and currently on a joint supplement to help slow down the progression of arthritis. Its likely at some point in my life I will require a medical approach to minimize the arthritis. Keeping my weight in check is important - too much weight can negatively affect my ability to move - fat itself contributes to inflammation, inflammation is part of the pain associated with arthritis, and being overweight or obese adds to both. If you're looking for a running partner, sadly, that can't be me.
As you can tell from the photos and video, I’m grateful to have been rescued. I’m a smart boy who is house trained, crate trained, and has learned commands like sit, shake and stay. I am very affectionate and love to play and snuggle with my humans. Kids over 7 yrs old are welcome in my forever home and a young energetic dog that will show me the ropes. Im extremely sweet, affectionate and a world class clown - a GOOF! Im full of mischief. My one weakness? Tasty treats. Especially those left unattended on the kitchen counter. So just consider yourself warned, if you leave anything tasty out on the counter, it’s fair game in my book. I have a great deal of character and the ultimate boxer wiggle! 
I’m a little shy meeting new people and going new places, so I need a home that can be patient with me and help to see that the world isn’t a scary place. I have learned a lot since I have been in my foster home and I continue to learn more and more. 
Well enough about me… how about you… ready to dive in and grab me… if you think we would be a great match… put in your app today!! 
** I need a companion dog in my furever home and an above ground 6’ fence. No exceptions so please don’t ask **

CONTACT

If you are interested in adopting me...

  1. You must be a resident of Wisconsin (or the U.P. of Michigan). We rely on personal visits as the best opportunity for an applicant to learn about a dog. Please note that the dogs are located in foster homes throughout the state.
  2. You must have an application on file first. Please apply. Need more info about adopting first? Check out our adoption information for the whole scoop.
  3. Please use the form below to indicate your interest in me. Approved applicants and former adopters are welcome to inquire.
  4. If you need more information, it is helpful if you submit specific questions.
Please note that you must have an approved application on file prior to inquiring about a dog.